Rhode Island Indecent Exposure Lawyer

Criminal Defense Lawyer John L. Calcagni, III

Schedule a Consultation

Rhode Island Indecent Exposure Lawyer

Criminal Defense Lawyer John L. Calcagni, III

Schedule a Consultation

Indecent exposure charges in Rhode Island

This offense penalizes the indecent exposure of one’s genitals to another for the purposes of sexual arousal, gratification, or stimulation.   A first violation of this law is a misdemeanor. 

However, a second or any subsequent offense is a felony.  Under Rhode Island Criminal Law, Indecent Exposure can be found at Rhode Island General Laws, Section 11-45-2.

What are the legal elements for indecent exposure

In order to be convicted of Indecent Exposure, there must exists strong evidence of the following three legal elements:

  1. that the accused knowingly exposed his or her genitals to another
  2. for the purposes of sexual arousal, gratification, or stimulation
  3. the exposure was likely to cause distress or alarm to that person.

Potential punishment if convicted of indecent exposure in Rhode Island

Under Rhode Island law, a first conviction for Indecent Exposure is a misdemeanor and the defendant shall be sentenced to a term in prison of not more than 1 year.  This penalty may be found at Rhode Island General Laws, Section 11-45-2.

Any subsequent conviction for Indecent Exposure is considered a felony and may subject a defendant to a term of prison of not more than 3 years. Additionally, a convicted offender may also be ordered to attend professional counseling.

First offense

The first offense is a misdemeanor and has a penalty of imprisonment for up to one (1) year, or a fine up to one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.

Subsequent offenses

Any subsequent offense would be a felony and can be punished by imprisonment for a term of up to three (3) years.

When a person is convicted of indecent exposure they may face sexual offender registration consequences.

Rhode Island indecent exposure laws

  • Rhode Island General Laws § 11-45-2. Indecent exposure – Disorderly conduct- (c) Any person found guilty of, or who pleads nolo contendere to the crime of indecent exposure/disorderly conduct, shall be imprisoned for a term of not more than one year, or fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both. Any subsequent offense shall be punished by imprisonment for a term of up to three (3) years.

If you have been charged with indecent exposure and need an experienced Rhode Island Sex Crimes Defense Attorney with a track record of success in Criminal Defense call (401) 351-5100 to schedule your free consultation.

Get a Free Consultation

(401) 351-5100

RI Criminal Lawyer John L. Calcagni, III

Tell Us About Your Case Case